Ways I Influence Others

This is an early version of a leadership development activity outline I did for an independent study course I taught. The purpose is to identify different ways that you influence other people through leadership and take that from an abstract term and turn into a specific tactic with an action plan.

I showed my example first and talked the student through one process and had him bring another to the next class. Next time I use it I will tweak it and put together more of a process guide with reflective questions as well as a check-up sheet for the student to reflect on the effectiveness of their action plan later.

It was helpful for the student to have a process and criteria for making his ideas specific and actionable. I myself created 10 and use those to this day to ensure a more inclusive and proactive approach to leadership and staff development.

Leave a Reply

